Butterflies and buttercream

February 27, 2012 § 1 Comment

Chocolate cupcakes with raspberry buttercream! As pretty as they turned out it was really the frosting that stole the show- but by the time they were being eaten the cupcakes had been plucked of their butterfly and the leaves removed so aesthetics were a wash at that point.

Image

Today was my niece’s first birthday party- my sister asked for butterfly cupcakes so after poking around Etsy for inspiration I stumbled upon edible butterflies. Here are the ones I wanted- unfortunately their shop owner didn’t respond to my rush order question in time so I had to order from a different shop.

Image

The idea was for the cupcakes to look like a rose with a little butterfly perched on top. My buttercream rose making skills aren’t what they should be and according to my mother (who spent two years of her young adult life frosting cakes) the frosting just wasn’t fit for roses so off comes the petal tip on comes the star-ish shaped tip.

The wrappers were designed in photoshop-printed and cut. If I were to make these again I would go with brown baking wrappers instead of silver so the leaves stand out more.

Image

I found the raspberry buttercream recipe here. I loved how simple it was- three ingredients! I will definitely use this recipe to experiment with different jelly flavors (I’m thinking blueberry next.)

One thing I should mention- the icing was SUPER sweet, it overpowered the subtle flavor of the chocolate cake.  Next time I plan to pair the frosting with a super dark chocolate cake to balance the flavors out.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Butterflies and buttercream

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Butterflies and buttercream at Domesticated.

meta

